Password Reminder

The sales channel storefront includes mechanisms that enable individual customers or users of a business customer to retrieve a user name or password which they may have forgotten.

  • Retrieving the User Name

    In order to retrieve a user name, users have to provide the e-mail address under which they have registered at the store. If the system has been able to verify the information, an e-mail is sent to the user containing the user name associated with the e-mail address provided. Content and layout of the e-mail are pre-defined by a template, which cannot be edited in Commerce Management.

  • Retrieving the Password

    As part of registering at the store, users have to select a security question and provide the answer for the security question. In case a user later uses the link "Forgot your password" in the storefront, the user has to provide user name, first and last name. In addition, the user has to answer the security question. If the system has been able to verify the information, an e-mail is sent to the user containing a link that the user can use to create a new password.

    Note: Administrators can use a link in Commerce Management to have this e-mail sent to a user, without users having to answer the security question.

    Content and layout of the e-mail are pre-defined by a template, which cannot be edited in Commerce Management.

As part of managing sales channel preferences in Commerce Management, administrators can determine the subject header and sender address for the e-mail sent to users who wish to retrieve user name or password. In addition, administrators can determine how long the link to create a new password remains active (e.g., 24 hours).

For details about password reminder settings, see Managing Password Reminder Preferences.