Master Role Management

Note: The tasks described in this section are performed in the context of the organization.

Master roles are pre-defined roles that must exist in all departments of the sales organization, see Master Roles and Custom Roles. Managing master roles involves creating, editing and deleting roles.

Creating Master Role

To create a new master role:
  1. In the navigation bar, select Organization | Master Roles.
    This displays a list of all master roles.
  2. Click New.
    This opens the New Master Role dialog.
  3. Specify the mandatory information.
    Mandatory data include name and ID. The description is optional.
  4. Click Apply.
    This creates the master role, and the Access Privileges tab becomes active.
  5. Open the Access Privileges tab and assign access privileges to the new role.
    For an overview of available organization access privileges, see Access Privileges.
  6. Click Apply to save your changes.
    Otherwise, click Reset to discard your changes.

Editing Master Role

To edit a master role:
  1. In the navigation bar, select Organization | Master Roles.
    This displays a list of all master roles.
  2. Click the master role you want to edit.
    This opens the master role detail view.
  3. Edit the information as required.
    At the Access Privileges tab, you can assign and unassign access privileges. For an overview of available organization access privileges, see Access Privileges.
  4. Click Apply to save your changes.
    Otherwise, click Reset to discard your changes.

Deleting Master Role

To delete one or more master roles:
  1. In the navigation bar, select Organization | Master Roles.
    This displays a list of all master roles.
  2. Select the checkbox of the master role to be deleted.
  3. Click Delete, and confirm the operation.
    This removes the selected master role from the system.
Tip: You can also delete a master role by clicking Delete in the master role detail view.